We’re looking for feedback on our school district technology customer satisfaction surveys.

Our district technology department has conducted a short customer satisfaction survey with staff for the last 10 years.  We’ve also surveyed parents and students over the last 2 years.  Each year, the surveys have been reviewed and the feedback has impacted our decisions and future projects. However, this year, we want to stop and ask ahead of time –  are we still asking the right questions? 

Staff Survey
The purpose is to measure customer satisfaction among all staff.    That’s why you won’t see brand names or any specific technologies listed in the survey.  Our view is that customer service is the ability to respond in a timely manner, the ability to communicate clearly, and other service oriented factors. The survey is sent to all 1,300 staff members annually.  It is then reviewed by the district and results are shared with our district technology planning team.

Questions: The following questions have been used consistently over the last ten years, giving us the ability to see trends and patterns in our level of service.

1. When members of the district technology department visit my building, they are courteous and treat the staff and students with respect.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

2. District technology employees communicate effectively with staff members.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

3. The district technology department updates me on the “big picture” of what the priorities are across the district.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

4. The district technology department responds to work order requests in a timely fashion.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

5. After requests are addressed, I feel that I am properly notified regarding the status of the request and whether it was resolved or not.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

6. The district technology department focuses on the needs of our students when making decisions.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

7. What technology services are we doing well? (open ended response)

8. What suggestions do you have for improving district technology services? (open ended response)

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Parent Survey
We’ve only been surveying parents for the past two years.  We’ve changed some of the questions each year, depending the responses and feedback received.   Again, we do mention brand names or any specific technologies, as our intention instead is to collect parent perceptions and their feedback on our overall view of services we provide for families.  Also, we do not ask about home internet/technology access, as this information is collected through other means.  The survey is sent annually to all parents who have email addresses in Infinite Campus. It is then reviewed by the district and results are shared with our district technology planning team.

1. I am satisfied with the amount of technology available to my child at school. For more info on what is available in classrooms, visit http://www.wdmcs.org/district/technology
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

2. My child is encouraged by teachers to use technology at school.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

3. I feel technology is important in my child(ren)’s classroom.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

4. I have a child in 6th thru 12th grade and I am satisfied with how often my child’s grades are updated in Infinite Campus.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t have 6th-12th grade child(ren).

5. I am satisfied with my schools usage of Campus Messenger to send emails to update me on relevant school and classroom information.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

6. I am  satisfied with the content/information/usability of our school web site.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

7. I am satisfied with the district’s notification system that is used to alert me via telephone of school early dismissals and cancellations.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

8. What technology services are we doing well? (open ended response)

9. What suggestions do you have for improving district technology services? (open ended response)

///////////////////////////////////////////////

Student Survey
We’ve only been surveying students for the past two years.  We’ve changed some of the questions each year, depending the responses and feedback received.   Again, we do mention brand names or any specific technologies, as our intention instead is to collect student perceptions and their feedback on our overall view of services we provide.  Also, we do not ask about home internet/technology access; as this information is collected through other means, but we do ask about bring devices to school, etc. The survey is sent annually to all students who have email addresses in Infinite Campus and is also posted for students to respond. It is then reviewed by the district and results are shared with our district technology planning team.

1.  I am satisfied with the amount of technology available to me in my school.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

2.  The technology that is available at my school is reliable.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

3. I am satisfied with how often my grades are updated in Infinite Campus.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

4. I wish more of my classes used Moodle.
Options: Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, I don’t know

5. How often do you bring your own device (laptops/itouch,etc) and connect to the schools wireless network? [note: we allow and encourage this, but do not require it]
Options: Almost every day, every week, I do, but not every week, never.  There’s also an open essay form for written comments.

6. How often do you connect to your H: Drive from home via the home.wmdcs.org web site?
Options: Almost every day, every week, I do, but not every week, never.  There’s also an open essay form for written comments.

7.  What technology services are we doing well? (open ended response)

 8. What suggestions do you have for improving district technology services? (open ended response)

////////////////////////////////////////////

How do I provide feedback?
You’re welcome to use the comment boxes below or you can email to abelingb@wdmcs.org

2 thoughts on “We’re looking for feedback on our school district technology customer satisfaction surveys.

    1. Brian Abeling Post author

      Hi Julia… There is not a link, the purpose right now is to share the questions… We are wanting to know if these are even questions that parents care about. Nothing more frustrating than filling out a survey and the questions aren’t relevant. We are looking to send the survey directly to parents via email during the month of Feb. Sorry for the confusion, I should have adjusted the title accordingly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

